Message from the President

Greetings from Tabor College!

This spring I will start my ninth year as President of Tabor College. Each year I have witnessed God’s grace and blessing on our students and on this campus. I’ve seen academic program growth and innovation, I’ve seen our arts department flourish, and I’ve seen more than a few championship trophies added to our displays. God has done great things at Tabor and I am blessed and humbled by his good works.

Each new year I enjoy spending time in reflection. I look at what God has done over the last year and listen for his direction on the next. To summarize our accomplishments in 2015, I created Tabor’s Top 15 in 2015. As I read this list, I am reminded that as we prepare people for a life of learning, work, and service for Christ and His kingdom, God is pleased.

  1. Generous constituents giving over $6.3 million in 2015
  2. Shari Flaming Center for the Arts ceremonial groundbreaking
  3. Approval by the Higher Learning Commission to launch the Master of Science in Nursing
  4. Professor Shin-Hee Chin’s art work recognized and exhibited internationally
  5. Combined athletic programs named NAIA Champion of Character 5-Star Gold Institution
  6. Four nationally ranked teams: Football, Women’s basketball, Men’s basketball, and Baseball
  7. Individual athletes Garret Daughtery (NAIA National 800 M runner up) and Jessica Emoto (ITA National Small College Tennis Championships 7th place)
  8. Fifteen varsity athletic teams achieved NAIA Scholar Team Award
  9. Awarded $600,000 grant from Lily Foundation to launch Faith Front program for high school students interested in vocational ministry
  10. External recognition by a variety of educational rankings: Top Tier College in Midwest by U.S. News for 12th straight year; Top 100 by Washington Monthly; #19 for low debt burden by Christian Universities Online Guide; and Top 5 online program in Kansas by Affordable Colleges Online
  11. Concert Choir performing at Kansas Music Educators Conference
  12. Construction beginning on The Lee and Leanna Indoor Baseball Training Facility
  13. Shari Flaming Center for the Arts final construction drawings created
  14. Building a new website and mobile smart phone app
  15. Criminology and Restorative Justice program launched in Fall of 2015

If you are new to Tabor, this is a wonderful place and I invite you to explore our mission and values. Tabor’s strong academic tradition is constantly reflected through our graduates as they serve all over the world in positions of influence and high capacity. Athletics and arts enhance students’ education and create additional opportunities for them to engage in campus life. As you read from our Top 15 in 2015, we are constantly innovating in academics, the arts, athletics, and on our campus as new facilities are built to fulfill the needs of students.

I am continually humbled by the accomplishments of our students, alumni, and faculty and it brings me joy to continue the mission of Tabor College into 2016.

With joy,

President Jules Glanzer

Inauguration of Dr. Jules Glanzer 

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is charged by the owners of Tabor College – the churches of the Central, Southern, Latin American and North Carolina district conferences of the U.S. Conference of Mennonite Brethren Churches – to assure that the mission of the college is being fulfilled, to establish policies which will guide the faculty and staff in providing programs and services, to appoint a chief executive (president) to implement their policies and manage programs and to monitor the effectiveness of all programs and services.

In carrying out these responsibilities, the Board of Directors meets at least three times per year. They work in committees to monitor the affairs of the college, receive reports from the president regarding the operations of the college and evaluate the performance of the president. These meetings assure that the mission of Tabor College is being fulfilled and the policies are being properly administered.

The Board of Directors members include:

  • Lyndon Vix – Chair
  • Diana Raugust – Vice Chair
  • Theodore Faszer – Secretary
  • Brent Kroeker – Treasurer
  • Darrell Driggers – Executive At Large
  • Craig Ratzlaff – Executive At Large
  • Loren Balzer – Executive At Large
  • Jose Cabrera
  • Roger Ediger
  • Rick Eshbaugh
  • Jeral Gross
  • Mark Jost
  • David Karber
  • Mike Kleiber
  • Jerry Kliewer
  • Elaine Kroeker
  • Lisa Kroeker
  • Bill Loewen
  • Nate Loewen
  • Dean Nachtigall
  • Deborah Penner – Faculty Representative
  • Dennis Penner
  • Elaine Setzer-Maxwell
  • Tim Sullivan
  • Wilbur Unrau
  • Richard Unruh
  • Molly Wiebe – Student Representative

Board Emeritus Members:

  • Harold Franz
  • Monroe Funk
  • Richard Gramza
  • Lee Jost
  • Loretta Jost
  • Dr. Vernon Kliewer
  • Bryan Kroeker
  • Joyce Loewen
  • Rolando Mireles
  • Paul Penner
  • Marvin Reimer
  • Nick Rempel
  • Virgil Thiessen
  • David Wiebe