2017-18 Hope Scholars Awards

The 2017-18 Hope Scholars Award recipients are listed below: Name, Faculty Sponsor (if applicable), Student Participants (if applicable), Title, and Type.

  • Athletic Training Seniors (Amber Bonham, Kendra Faul, Jordan Walters, Makayla Wassenberg), Dan Sigley, Concussion Education in Collegiate Sports, Scholar
  • Austin Calam, Laurel Koerner, Funding for Design Exposition at Theater Conference, Logistical
  • Emily Ingalls, Conservation Genetics of Aleutian Island Rock Sandpipers, Scholars
  • Reuven Isaac, Laurel Koerner, Funding for Theater Conference, Logistical
  • Heidi Klaassen, Karrie Rathbone, The Effects of Probiotics on Gut Bacteria, Scholar
  • Sheila Litke, CD Recording for Sabbatical Project, Logistical
  • Ben Loewen, Norman Schmidt, Analysis of the Chemicals Found in the Odors of Chemotherapy Patients, Scholar
  • Julie Loewen, Karrie Rathbone, The Assessment of Antibiotic Effectiveness of Amoxicillin, Clindamycin, and Kanamycin on Porphyrmonas gingivalis, Scholar
  • Amy Millsap, Identification of the Compound(s) Involved in Feather Odor, Scholar
  • Alexis Olivares, Karrie Rathbone, A Study of Measuring the Effects of Anaerobic Levels of Kanamycin on the Negative Bacteria, Scholar
  • Christin Pruett, Conservation Genetics of an Endangered Plant (Warea amplexifolia), Scholar
  • Karrie Rathbone, Determination of Antibiotic Suppression on Facultative Anaerobic Gut Microbiota, Scholar
  • Norman Schmidt, Funding for American Chemical Society Pentasectional Meeting, Logistical
  • Gaven Schumann, Christin Pruett, Antimicrobial Properties of Bird Feathers, Scholar
  • Tanner Sechrist, Karrie Rathbone, Antibiotic Effectiveness on Mouse Gut Bacteria, Scholar
  • Molly Wiebe Faber, Laurel Koerner, Participation in the American College Theater Festival, Logistical

Total amount granted for 2017-18: $20,335

Cumulative Hope Scholar Grants 2008-2018


In the spring of 2007, the New Hope Mennonite Brethren Church of New Hope, Minnesota established a Legacy of Hope endowment to support scholarship at Tabor College. Scholarship, as defined in this proposal, is informed by the late Dr. Ernest Boyer in his landmark study Scholarship Reconsidered (1997). According to Boyer, scholarship has two critical elements that make it a distinctive activity. First, scholarship involves the systematic study of a topic or issue. Secondly, scholarship must involve the public presentation of the results of that study. Both must be present. Either of these activities without the other, while worthy and possibly useful, does not constitute scholarship activity.

Boyer promotes a fourfold approach to scholarship: scholarship of discovery, scholarship of integration, scholarship of application and scholarship of teaching. Activities related to the discovery of knowledge, the integration and application of knowledge and the teaching of knowledge all qualify as scholarship, if done systematically with public presentation of the results.

Support for the scholarship activities, funded by the Legacy of Hope endowment, falls into three categories: scholarship grants, innovative curriculum development grants and logistical scholarship support grants.

Scholar Grants

Scholar grants are designed to encourage Tabor College faculty and students to systematically study issues of significance through a Christian worldview lens. Scholarship grants may be used for work done during the summer or to pay for release time during the academic year. A maximum of $2,500 may be used for faculty stipends with students eligible for a maximum stipend of $1,500. The maximum award for a scholarship grant will be $5,000. Preference will be given to submissions that involve students, have clear and achievable goals, make a significant scholarly contribution and have not been previously funded.

Innovative Curriculum Development Grants

Innovative curriculum development grants are designed to encourage the development of innovative curriculum ideas. Innovative curriculum development grants may be used for work done during the summer or to pay for release time during the academic year. A maximum of $2,500 may be used for faculty stipends. The standard award for an innovative curriculum development grant will be $500-$1,000. Preference will be given to grants that have clear and achievable goals, constitute a substantive curricular revision and have not been previously funded.

Logistical Scholarship Support Grants

Logistical scholarship support grants are designed to provide supplemental logistical support for faculty or students not granted a scholarship or innovative curriculum grant. Eligible uses complete or enhance scholarly projects. Examples include travel and accommodation expenses for presenting at academic conferences, minor equipment needs, supplies, editing expenses, exhibit competition fees, etc.  Logistical support will be granted as funds are available. Grants are limited to $750 generally. Priority will be given to student support and requests not previously funded.


Faculty must be employed at least three-quarter time to be eligible for Hope Scholars Program grants. In unusual circumstances where a faculty member is less than three-quarter time, eligibility may be granted with approval from the Academic Dean. Students must be enrolled full-time to be eligible for Hope Scholars Program grants. In unusual circumstances where a student is less than full-time, eligibility may be granted with approval from the Academic Dean.  Student applicants must have a Tabor faculty sponsor noted on their proposal.

Grant Approval Process

Grants will be awarded on a competitive basis. The schedule for proposals will be determined by the Academic Affairs Committee. The Committee is chaired by the Academic Dean and consists of the four division chairs and faculty chair.  Grants will be subject to standard accounting and taxation policies. A campus presentation of the grant activity will be required. These arrangements will be made between the awardee and the Academic Affairs Office.

The committee reserves the right to give constructive counsel, request a resubmission or deny any/all requests.