Tabor College Holds Honors Convocation

Lara VanderhoofHILLSBORO, Kan. – Tabor College held its annual Honors Convocation Thursday, May 10. This event acknowledged the academic success of the students and faculty for the 2017-18 school year.

Roughly one third of the student body received awards for their achievements around campus and in the classroom.

Frank Johnson, vice president of academics, was proud to recognize the hardworking students.

“It is always a delight to celebrate student academic achievement and this year is no exception,’ said Johnson. “It is my desire that students take these positive experiences and allow them to enrich their life journey as they give back to their communities and churches.”

Each year, one male and one female are nominated by students and faculty to receive the Heibert Outstanding Student Merit Award. Honorees are chosen by a committee with representatives from the student body, the faculty and student development.

Recipients must hold a cumulative grade point average of 3.3 and demonstrate leadership on campus. Recognition and monetary scholarship endowed by the descendants of Kornelius Hiebert, who was the first chair of the Tabor College Board of Director.

This year’s recipient was Allison Nickel of Centennial, Colo.

One faculty member also received the Clarence R. Hiebert Excellence in Teaching Award. This award is given annually to the faculty member who best exemplifies the qualities of excellent teaching at Tabor College.

Lara Vanderhoof was the recipient of this award.

One of the nominations for Vanderhoof read, “Lara does a fantastic job with prospective students and is always willing to help when needed. I appreciate the integration of Christ and faith into tough topics to teach our students how to create change in a hostile world.”

Other recognitions included NAIA All-American Scholar Athletes, Dean’s Scholars and academic awards given by department chairs.