Lowery named 2023 Maud Wyatt Recognition Scholarship recipient

Katie Lowery
Katie Lowery

The Kansas Independent College Foundation, on behalf of its member institutions, is proud to announce the 2023 Maud Wyatt Recognition Scholarship Recipients. These 19 recipients are all full-time, degree-seeking students on the cusp of graduation and have each demonstrated excellence in academics, character, and integrity. Our winners have encouraged their peers to build bright, dynamic futures, all while maintaining GPAs of 3.5 or above.

Katie Lowery (JR, Auburn, Calif.) was selected as the 2023 recipient for Tabor College. Lowery is an Exercise Science major and carries a 3.79 GPA.

“Our 2023 winners show that true leadership goes beyond good grades and academic achievement, but encompasses the power of community and fellowship,” says KICF President Matthew Lindsey upon the announcement of the 2023 scholarships. “The member campuses of KICF cultivate well-rounded leaders who not only excel in their studies but also make a positive impact on the world around them, and these awards showcase the brighter future they are shaping.”

The scholarship was established in 1995 through the generosity of Maud Wyatt, whose bequest has supported the work of the KICF and its institutions since 1961. The Kansas Independent College Foundation seeks to develop, promote, and direct unified approaches to selected corporations, foundations, and individuals for financial support of Kansas’ independent colleges and universities.

This release is courtesy of the Kansas Independent College Association (KICA). Tabor College is one of 20 represented institutions. For more information on the release, contact the KICA at 785-554-0247 or Tabor College Communications at 620-947-3121 (ext. 1225).

KICF member institutions: Baker University, Barclay College, Benedictine College, Bethany College, Bethel College, Central Christian College of Kansas, Cleveland University-KC, Donnelly College, Friends University, Hesston College, Kansas Wesleyan University, Manhattan Christian College, McPherson College, MidAmerica Nazarene University, Newman University, Ottawa University, Southwestern College, Sterling College, Tabor College, and the University of Saint Mary.


Located in Topeka, the Kansas Independent College Foundation is a 501(c)3 that develops and enhances the competitive standing of its 20-member independent, non-profit, regionally accredited, degree-granting colleges and universities and strives to assure opportunity and choice in higher education for all students. For more information on the Foundation, contact Jesyca Hope at jesyca@kscolleges.org.